Howard County Real Estate Information

Howard County can be found in the central part of Maryland. It is located between Baltimore City and the nation’s capitol, Washington DC, and therefore is considered to be a part of the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Area. Howard County’s county seat is located in Ellicott City and the county has a total population of approximately 250,000 people. Howard County is a highly regarded county, ranking nationwide as the third wealthiest county based on median household income. Money magazine rated Howard County’s Ellicott City as the number 4 in their list of “America’s Best Places to Live.” In addition, the schools found in Howard County are often ranked as the number one school system in the state of Maryland, based on graduation rates and standardized testing scores.

The district of Howard was first established in the year 1838 from property split off of the neighboring county of Anne Arundel. Although Howard was regarded as having county status, it did not actually have representation in the Maryland General Assembly. Only in 1851 did Howard district officially become Howard County. The county was named after Maryland’s fifth governor, John Eager Howard, who served as an officer during the American Revolutionary War.

Howard County encompasses a total area of 252 square miles of land and 2 square miles of water. The county is located in the Piedmont region of Maryland, which causes much of the real estate to be covered in rolling hills. The largest community in Howard is the town of Columbia although neither it nor any other are incorporated into the county. The northern parts of Howard County are considered to be the outskirts of Baltimore City, and the southern parts are very closely tied to Washington DC. Howard County is the only county in the state of Maryland that is completely surrounded by Maryland land. To the southeast of Howard County is Anne Arundel County, to the northeast is Baltimore County, to the north is Carroll County, to the northwest is Frederick County, to the west is Montgomery County, and to the south is Prince George’s County.

Although Howard County contains no incorporated municipalities, it does contain many census designated places. These include Columbia, Elkridge, Ellicott City, Jessup, North Laurel, and savage Guilford. Other unincorporated communities found in Howard County are Clarksville, Cooksville, Daniels, Dayton, Dorsey, Fulton, Glenelg, Glenwood, Granite, Hanover, Henryton, Highland, Ilchester, Lisbon, Marriottsville, Scaggsville, Simpsonville, Sykesville, West Friendship, Woodbine, and Woodstock.